My poem about the Chibok schoolgirls. #amediting #bringbackourgirls 

Yesterday I was reading the paper and a story caught my eye. It was about the 276 schoolgirls who were abducted by Boko Haram terrorists in Northern Nigeria two years ago. I thought I had read that many of these women had been brought back. The report says that David Cameron called the kidnapping ‘an act of pure terrorism’ and promised the UK would ‘do what we can’, but when 80 of the girls were found, nothing was done.

I can’t imagine the pain and hardship these women go through every day of their lives and I can’t help thinking if they were soldiers of some sort, we would have gone in. If there was oil there, we would have gone in. If we were settling a score, we would have gone in. David Cameron is not representative of everyone in the UK.

Reading about this initially led to a poem that I thought I had blogged. I haven’t. If you would like to read it, please comment below.

About beckydeans

I've always been a writer one way or the other. You can find out more about copywriter me at www.beckydeans.co.uk
This entry was posted in Musings, secret history, Uncategorized, WeWillRememberThem and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My poem about the Chibok schoolgirls. #amediting #bringbackourgirls 

  1. Well come on then. What are you waiting for?

Leave a Reply

