Lydia -for Lydia Lawrence #amwriting #strongwomen

Good golly miss Molly 

Did you marry a man with a miner’s lamp and 

No brolly? 


Didn’t you know that the marriage bed came sprinkled with

Soot? Did he blind you

With a title, then tempt you with a butty? 


How long did you keep that aspidistra flying? 

Through the childbirth and the child death

And the end of the piano music


Spinning lace while your son 

Learnt to spin a story.

(And how were your hands

After all that washing? )


When will you hold court 

With the scientists and the academics and writers? 


(C) Rebecca Deans 2016

About beckydeans

I've always been a writer one way or the other. You can find out more about copywriter me at www.beckydeans.co.uk
This entry was posted in local history, poetry, secret history and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lydia -for Lydia Lawrence #amwriting #strongwomen

  1. In my ignorance (of which I have plenty), I enjoyed the poem, but I felt something was lacking. After I’d googled Lydia Lawrence, I realised the lack was in my knowledge, and the next read through made much more sense.
    Am I right in thinking you’re getting into a writing groove?

  2. beckydeans says:

    I Have found my notes and everything. Just need some time or a grant lol.

  3. I like this: playful … Thanks for sharing.

  4. I like this: very playful. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

